According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that in order to reduce cheating scandals among students, all colleges should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton’s. However the evidence that the author provides is insufficient.

The report mentions that Groventon College has a significant reduction in student cheating after after they adopted the honor code which asks the students to report the cheating to faculty members themselves. Here, we need more information about if students really report the cheating of their classmate honestly. Is it possible that even if some students cheated or seen others cheat, they would not necessarily report to the faculty due to reasons like wanting a good grade or peer-pressure? Imagine if you see your friends cheating in test and you know that if you report to the teacher, they would stop being friends with you. In this case, I believe most students would not have the courage to report their friends.

Furthermore, the report also mentions that a recent survey shows that the Groven students said they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code than without. The author did not specify who conducted the survey, nor did the author mentioned the number of students who took the survey. If the survey is conducted by the students themselves, then the survey might reflects the truth about the students. However, if the survey is conducted by the faculty in school, then it is possible that students might not answered honestly because they fear the teacher might think they cheated themselves. Even if the students answered the survey honestly, we still don’t know how many people took the survey. If there are 1000 students in Groveton College and only 10 students took this survey, then the survey pool, 1% of the total student population, is definitely not enough.

Last, we need the author to provide more information about other colleges and universities that he or she suggests to adopt the honor code. Even if the honor code really works for Groveton College, we do not know that it would work as well in other schools. It can be that the students in Groveton College are taught to be more honest than other colleges because they were required to take many moral and ethics classes. We need more evidence about other universities and colleges in order to trust the argument provided by the author.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide further proof as mentioned above in order to strengthen the argument.