Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

While some might disagree with the statement that society should save endangered species only if human activities had caused it, I support the statement due to the following reasons.

Since billion years ago when the first living creature exist in this planet, natural selection has been playing the role of God. If a species has some disadvantages and cannot survive in its environment, it will become extinct and other species that are more developed in suiting the environment will survive, and this is natural selection. The reason why natural selection exist in our world is because it provides better gene passing on in this world, and only the strong can survive in the future. We, human, are not God, we should not decide what species that should or should not survive due to our own preference. Hene, we should not save make effort to save endangered species that the reason of extinction are not caused by humans.

Second reason why society should not make effort to save endangered species is that it is not practical. Currently, there are ten of thousands of species are close to extinction, and it would take hundreds of billions of dollars to save those species. For example, setting up animal protection program requires scientists, animal doctors, different equipment, a land or area that contains the animal and many more. Saving one species can cause a large sum of money and we do not have enough funds or human resources to save all the endangered animals at the same time. Unfortunately, we would have to make a choice between saving certain species first than others. This is why I believe that society should only save the almost extinct species that are caused by human activities.

Last, some might argue that it is necessary to protect endangered animals that the reasons of extinction are caused by humans due to saving animal diversity. It is true that animal diversity is indeed important, however, if we do not have enough funds to do so, it is still not possible to save all endangered species. It is better to save some than to ending up not able to save all.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that society should only save endangered species only if the reason for extinction is caused by human activities.