A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While some people might disagree with the statement due to it can limit some students' special talent, I agree that it is necessary for a nation to have the same mandatory courses for all students before they go to college.

Most of the students nowadays decide to enter college after graduating from high school, and this pheromone is only getting more and more common when a country becomes more developed. Due to this reason, it is necessary for a nation to have the same mandatory courses for all of its students so they possess the same opportunity to apply for college. For example, in Taiwan, all high school students the same standard test when they apply for college. This standard test includes subjects like Math, Chinese, English, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, History and more. If Taiwan does not have the same national curriculum for its high school students, then some students with fewer resources, such as living in a rural area, might have performed as well as other students who might live in a bigger city which can offer students with a better quality of classes.

Another reason why a country should have mandatory subject courses for all of its students is that it can provide a good educational foundation for its students no matter if they enter college or not. Subjects like English is a necessary skill to have in today's world. Even if a student decides not to enter college after graduating from high school, they will probably still use this language when they enter the workplace. In the globalized society that we have today, doing business with people from another country is not rare at all, and speaking English is a necessary skill to have in order to survive in the business world. Furthermore, Math is another important subject that we cannot live without knowing. Basic algebra is extremely important in not only work but in everyday life, hence, a nation should indeed require all of its students to take the same national subject courses before entering college.

Nevertheless, some might argue that having a mandatory curriculum can limit students' interest or talent. Yes, this is entirely possible. However, we have to consider if it is realistic to have many different subjects in school for a few students who have interest or talent in these areas. Imagine if we ask the schools to include subjects like piano lessons, engineering lessons or oil-painting lessons for a few students. Most public schools are already underfunded and teachers are underpaid, and it is unlikely that there is more fund for schools to hire teachers to teach these special subjects for a few students.