Some people think that children should obey rules or do what their parents and teachers want them to do. Other people think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems themselves in adulthood. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Children usually have to obey different rules at home or at school. Although strict disciplines are sometimes important, I am of the opinion that this may have an adverse impact on children’s problem-solving ability.

The main function of rules is to hold children accountable for their own behaviours and help them develop good behaviour patterns from a young age. Children are not conscious of the consequences of their behaviours as adults are, but with set rules, they will come to realize how they could behave in a socially acceptable way. For example, they could learn about how to greet others, how to make polite requests, and how to show table manners. Disciplines can also help to forbid inappropriate behaviours such as using profanity, speaking rudely, cheating, and interrupting teachers.

However, strict rules do not necessarily have a positive influence on children’s development, if parents establishing strict rules give too much priority to obeisance. Having relied on the rules heavily when making decisions, kids will lose the ability to solve problems independently. To give an example, if children’s daily activities are all restricted by rules set, they may not know how to manage time on their own, or how to cope with demands at work. As a consequence, it would be difficult for them to have a fulfilling career.

All in all, I believe that simply following rules would stifle children’s creativity, making them unable to tackle problems in various ways. This is because children dare not to put their ideas into practice, for the fear that they will be punished for failing to comply with rules. For instance, if students are told to use one specific method to write their essays, they would have no idea of what would happen if they express their own ideas in a different way. Problems are complicated in the real world, and people without creativity would not be able to tackle them.