A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imposing sentences is regarded as a way to punish those who commit serious crime and sometimes as a correctional method in many societies. It may has some advantages, but I hold that we should consider some other means to rehabilitate offenders.

Those who are in favour of stiff sentences may think a longer prison term has deterrent effects on both prospective and habitual offenders. One of the reasons is that being punished means losing freedom, which is a consequence rational people cannot take. In addition, having a crime record would have an adverse impact on their future life, including career life. Therefore, they would not commit crimes for the fear of being punished.

Despite this, we can consider community service as a means to combat crime. Community work can transform some law breakers, especially those who commit minor crimes, into law-abiding citizens. By contrast, if they are sentenced to prison, there is a possibility that they would commit crime again after the prison term, which poses a threat to other members in society.

In addition, we can also provide criminals with education and vocational training to improve their soft skills and practical skills. Juvenile criminals or first-time offenders may break the laws because of the lack of social experiences or low social status. If they could find employment, or they are aware of legal responsibilities, they may not commit crime. On the contrary, the prison will isolate offenders from society, preventing them from acquiring job skills and reintegrating into society.

In conclusion, I would argue that harsh penalty can serve as a deterrent, but it is not the best way to fight crimes. Through some other rehabilitation programmes, we would be able to build a happy and stable society.