Advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many children in the modern world are exposed to numerous commercials every day, which encourage them to buy snacks, toys and video games. I think these kinds of advertisements should be restricted or even banned.

Children would no longer pester their parents to buy something if advertisements targeted at children are regulated. The younger generation is not sensitive to prices and parents nowadays like to satisfy their children’s material needs. For example, some children are obsessed with expensive toys and some girls are into fashionable clothes. These purchases would put low-income families under pressure and this problem would be mitigated if children are not bombarded with those advertising campaigns.

What’s more, commercials are also responsible for many behaviour problems and lifestyle issues of today’s children. For instance, some young people are fascinated by fast food and this is because they are overwhelmed by relevant advertisements. In addition, playing violent electronic games promoted by advertising firms all days make some children bad-tempered. All these problems would pose a threat to children’s health as well as growth.

Admittedly, some advertisements are of beneficial values. For example, nutrient food such as milk and cereal would be promoted in some commercials and others would disseminate information about books, games, and toys of educational values, thanks to which parents can make the best purchases when they are not familiar with that kind of products.

In a nutshell, I am convinced that the government should impose tight controls over many advertisements aimed at children and which exert an adverse effect on them, while other commercials promoting good products can be allowed.