Many countries spend a lot of money in the arts. Some people think investment in the arts is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public services and facilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views on whether the government should invest in the arts, especially when a country is struggling with budget deficits. From my perspective of view, I would argue that priority should be given to fundamental facilities and arts should be financed only when there is budget surplus.

Many people are in favour of spending in the arts for the reason that arts can make our cities more appealing. Artworks such as sculptures, paintings, and figures can make public places, including libraries, subway stations, and even toilets, more visually attractive. In addition, we would be able to enjoy our urban lives better if the art industry is prosperous and the architectural styles are various. More importantly, exposure to artworks helps relieve our stress and put us in a good mood.

However, despite the importance of the arts, a large number of people believe that what should receive more public money are the public facilities. Ordinary people are more interested in public facilities such as water and electricity supply networks, schools, libraries, and roads since these infrastructures are directly related to their life quality. To illustrate, great sanitation and clean water can improve public health and reduce diseases, while schools and libraries can disseminate knowledge and improve people’s job prospects. On the contrary, sculptures, paintings, or operas are luxury items for many, which cannot bring much tangible benefits.

My opinion is that public facilities benefit the economy growth and thereby generate more money for the government to invest in the arts. For instance, spending money on the public transport system can make citizens’ daily commuting easier, as well as improve productivity; and investing in high-speed railway systems and airports can bring convenience to the deliver cargos. As a result, cities can attract more investment and become wealthier with these facilities, rendering people a better life. By contrast, investing in the arts usually cannot generate immediate financial payoff.

In conclusion, I hold that considering the wellbeing of the general public, the government should lay emphasis on public services and facilities, despite the fact that artistic projects can make our cities more spectacular.