At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

While population ageing is a concern for some parts of the world, other countries have more youngsters than senior citizens. I am of the opinion that this has more benefits than drawbacks.

The merits of young adults outnumbering elderly people are threefold. One of the advantages is that young people are the main sources of labour, who contribute to a country's economic growth. In addition, youngsters tend to be more innovative and active, hence technological developments can be expected as well. Lastly, studies show that young adults have higher spending power than elderly people. As a result, the government can enjoy higher tax revenue, which is a crucial source of public spending that benefits every individual in the country.

However, there are, undoubtedly, some downsides to this. A problem is that a larger number of youngsters means there are higher demands for education and jobs. If such resources are not sufficient, competition for education and employment will be more fierce and high dropout rate and unemployment rate is one of the main causes of crime and social instability. What's more, young adults are usually less mature than senior citizens, who are also more experienced. Consequently, myriads problems could emergy in a society dominated by youngsters.

Despite this, those drawbacks mentioned could be tackled if proper measures are in place. Therefore, in a nutshell, I am convinced that advantages of having more young adults than the elderly outweigh the disadvantages.