Should Super Screen spend more on advertising?

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company proposes that a greater percentage of budget should be allocated to advertising, claiming that the reason why a decreasing number of people attended its movies lies in the lack of public's awareness of the high-quality movies. However, his statement is untenable upon scrutiny.

In the first place, the percentage of positive reviews increased while fewer people attended the movies does not necessarily indicate satisfactory quality. A decrease in the total amount of reviews will increase the proportion of positive reviews itself, even when the number of positive reviews remains the same or even be smaller.

Even if indeed more positive reviews than before were received, we still cannot conclude that the movies are of good qualities. On the contrary, it could actually be an evidence of poor qualities. Perhaps lots of people did not go to see a Super Screen-produced movies because they saw one before and it was unsatisfactory. And those who still attend the new movies are the people who really enjoy movies made by Super Screen for some reasons. Then there is no wonder why they will give positive feedback. Therefore, customer surveys should be conducted to investigate the real opinions of customers and see if there are quality problems.

In addition, no evidence is given to support the argument of public's lack of awareness. It is entirely possible that people are well informed of Super Screen and its movies but they are just not interested, which again indicates problems of movie qualities.

Even though the advertising was indeed not effective, it would not necessarily due to lack of funds. Perhaps sufficient funds were allocated but the ways or channels of advertising are inappropriate, or advertisements were targeted to wrong groups of people. If this is the case, then what Super Screen should do is not to allocate more funds, but to improve it marketing strategies.

To sum up, whether the decline in audiences is resulted from qualities of movies or ineffectiveness of advertising should be investigated further and multiple ways of addressing the problem should be cautiously compared and the best one chosen.