Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity, but some people argue that courses can never be taken as good as those by attending a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of the Internet has changed people’s lives and working patterns. These days, an increasing number of people are considering adopting distance education, a system that allows them to complete a degree at home. Although this kind of education has some differences with traditional college education, it has its own advantages.

First of all, compared with traditional education, distance learning is more flexible, making it possible for more people to receive education. Students in distance-learning programs need to read relevant materials and they attend lectures by watching videos. When they have difficulties digesting the information given, they are free to push the pause button and replay the video as many times as they want, until they understand the content completely. Lectures in distance-education program are open 7/24 and it is therefore ideal for those who lead a hectic life, as long as they have access to the Internet.

In addition, as the distance education developing, interaction opportunities between students and lecturers are provided. Students can now use tools provided in the virtual classroom or send emails to ask questions. In this way, they can gain guidance from lecturers and finish the lectures with higher quality. Sometimes, they can even communicate with scholars from worldwide prestigious universities while they are at home.

One of the main drawbacks of such type of learning is that students have few chances to improve their soft skills, considering that group assignments are usually not included. Normally, distance-learning students complete their degrees on their own and hence they can hardly make new friends. As a result, their network of contacts cannot be expanded, which has a negative effect on their career development.

Distant education makes higher education more available, thanks to its flexibility. However, it does have some flaws, such as the lack of interaction, which make it unable to produce the same learning outcome as that of traditional college education.