Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

The speaker contends that assessment of student’s learning should be based on their ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts behind the facts, rather than on the mere grasp of facts. I agree with this argument but I also think grasping facts is important and beneficial as well sometimes.

The ultimate objective of study is to sharpen our ability to put what we learn into practice and to think critically and make sound judgements base on what we have learned. By merely focusing on facts, students risk equating the learning process with the assimilation of trivia. Consequently, flexible use of the knowledge would be impossible. Take physics as an example, if one memorizes a formula without further thinking, more often than not he would be able to do nothing but solve a physics problem fit exclusively the formula. It is hard for him to explain phenomena encountered in his real life using what he has learned. And merely being able to solve a problem in the examination is of little use in our real life. On the contrary, if one understands the ideas, trends, and concepts behind the facts thoroughly or at least more deeply, he will know more about how to use those facts for his benefits.

Moreover, understanding the ideas, trends, and concepts those facts illustrate could also help students to memorize the facts. Simply reciting the facts given would be painful and facts learned this way would be forgotten faster. This is why many students find themselves remember nothing about the subject instantly after an examination. Many schools nowadays schedule experiments along with lectures. Students can perform experiments related to chemistry, for example, at the end of which students present a technical report which describes the experiment, the analysis and findings. Upon completion, the students should have the ability to relate the experiment to the theory learned and this helps them understand and memorize the theory better and for a longer time.

However, it is undeniable that learning facts can precede understanding its meaning and significance. It would be faster to memorize a fact than understand it thoroughly, which usually requires large amounts of researches. And sometimes only after we get to know some facts can we understand others. Learning facts themselves is crucial as well – as long as students do not stop at rote memorization.

To sum up, learning the ideas, trends and concepts of facts is of great significance to achieve the aim of education, but notice should be given that grasping facts also plays an indispensable role.