Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

The author contends that appearance is becoming increasingly important in modern society and even surpasses the reality or truth behind it. My personal experience tells me that this is indeed the case sometimes, but I would argue that what is behind the appealing image could not be disregarded.

First of all, the important role of image is evident in many aspects. For example, in today’s business world. Take cellphones as an instance, since different brands of phones are more and more homogeneous in functional or structural aspects, companies have no choice but to differentiate themselves through image advertising, by conjuring up certain illusory benefits – such as status. And consider when we are in the supermarket, it is natural for us to choose those good-looking goods, presuming that they tend to be of higher quality.

The growing significance of image is also obvious in political realm, particularly when it comes to presidential politics. Admittedly, by its very nature politicking has always emphasized rhetoric and appearances above substance and fact. Yet since the invention of camera presidential politicians have become increasingly concerned about their image. After all, it was television that elected J.F.K. over Nixon. And our only two-term presidents in the television age were elected based largely on their image. Query whether Presidents Lincoln, Taft, or even F.D.R. would be elected today if pitted against the handsome leading man Reagan, or the suave and politically correct Clinton. After all, Lincoln was homely, Taft was obese, and F.D.R. was crippled.

The increasing focus on image is also palpable in job market. Surveys show that beautiful candidates are more likely to be recruited. As a result, some people do plastic surgery to improve their appearance and thus increase the possibility of being hired. Many people also get surgery because they want to be treated much better. Being beautiful is needed to be accepted by the society, especially for women, somehow.

However, although it is human nature to bias in favor of beauty and it is unblamable, it is not for the best of the society. Because in the long term, the significance of image wanes considerably. Imagine if a company hire a good-looking employee no appropriate ability to carry out the work. The company will have to either fire him and find another one, or allow him to stay and ultimately corrupt the company. Imagine if you buy a cake because of its pretty packaging, only to find it not tasty at all, will you buy it next time? More often than not, the answer will be no. And this could be applied to all cases. Ultimately, what determines the true value of a thing or a person is their quality, instead of image.

Therefore, there is no doubt that attracting appearance is important to some extent, but no one could afford to ignore the reality and truth behind it altogether.