Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The speaker holds that colleges and universities should require their students to study in a foreign country for at least one term. While I agree that studying oversea could bring a lot of benefits, I am not in favor of the idea that it should be compulsory.

Living in an era of globalization when connections among countries have never been tighter, to study and live in a foreign country for a period of time helps ones expand their horizons and acquire a global view of thinking and thus benefits their future career where global cooperation or competition would be commonplace. This is because students can gain a better understanding of the habits, ways of thinking, preferences, and so on of people living in another country by spending time studying and communicating with them; and mutual understanding is the prerequisite of cooperation.

In addition, students are exposed to numerous uncertainties and challenges, for example, cultural shock, language difficulties, and the like, when living in another country. As they will be living away from home with no acquaintances around, they have no choice but to face them and overcome them by themselves, which hones their important skills of living and solving problems independently as well as strengthens their willpower.

However, the fact cannot be ignored that capabilities vary among students and some of them may not have the ability to study in a foreign country. It is possible that some students cannot speak a foreign language at all or that their knowledge of the language is not sufficient for them to live in a foreign country. There is also possibility that some students’ independent living skills are so terrible that they could not live without someone helping them. Also, studying in a foreign country may require a large sum of money and some students may not be able to afford it. And some students may be so xenophobic that they do not want to study outside of their own country. These students are not prepared for studying oversea and forcing them to do so will be counterproductive.

To sum up, I completely agree that studying in a foreign country can benefit a student in many perspective, but I think schools should not require everyone to do that. What schools should do is to encourage their students, prepare them for future opportunities, and provide resources to support them. The choice of whether or not to study abroad should be made by students themselves base on their own preferences and their own goals.