Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The speaker contends that leaders in any field should step down after five years as revitalization through new leadership is a certain path for an enterprise to success. Admittedly, rotation of leaders can bring some benefits to an enterprise in some fields, but in other fields, this may not be the case. Besides, the success of the enterprise could not be assured simply by the rotation of leader. More issues should be taken into account.

The statement is true in some cases. It is known to us all that every American president could be in position for four years before a re-election and presidents could only serve two consecutive terms, which means the maximum presidency term for any American president would be eight years, after which they have to retire and a new president would be chosen. It is also applicable in the business world. Many countries in the world have such a regulation stipulating that chief executive officer (CEO) and chairman, if there is one, could only sit for some certain years. There are several reasons supporting these rules. Firstly, possible centralization and personalization of power could occur if one takes charges for too long a time. Secondly, as the societal and economic situations are continuingly changing, it is reasonable for leadership style to change accordingly, so select a more suitable leader at some period of time is indispensable. In addition, a new leader is often able to bring some new ideas since they have not got stocked in the routine process of work and hence their mind is fresh and more flexible, which might contribute to an enterprise’ success.

However, some problems of rotation could not be ignored. Firstly, it is possible that short-termism would exist so that the leaders only focus on the performance within his tenure, which may lead to long-term benefits being sacrificed. More seriously, the leader may not work hard at all if he thinks he would have to step down willy-nilly. Secondly, changes could lead to instability within the enterprise because, for example, subordinates would need time to get accustom to the new leader’s styles. This would undermine the development of the enterprise.

I agree that leaders should step down after several years, but the mechanism should be carefully designed. Firstly, it is advisable that leaders be selected by the public, or the board of directors, depending on the nature of the enterprise. Selection could to some extent prevent the former leaders from underperforming as he would tend to win people’s trust and stay in position for a longer time. What’s more, it could ensure that a well-equipped and appropriate leader would be chosen to lead the enterprise. Secondly, the term limit should vary from enterprise to enterprise. It may be suitable for government head to step down after four or five years, but in some fields such as schools, this may not be necessary. Also, succession planning should be undertaken in advance to enable a smooth transition.

To sum up, I agree with the statement insofar as leaders should rotate after a period of time. However, I believe that the time could not be determined so arbitrarily and some rules should be in place to ensure the success of the rotation system.