Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

The speaker’s assertion is that leaders are created by the demands placed on them. From my personal experience, I tend to agree with this statement to the extent that demands play an important role in creating leaders, but there also exist some exceptions.

There are many kinds of leaders in the world, from as small as a leader of a study group in school, to as big as the leader of a country. But all leaders play one common role, which is that leaders are someone who can unite people into a cohesive group and lead the group to achieve a common goal. Leaders are responsible for setting the ultimate goal, promoting positive organizational culture, launching appropriate policies to manage and motivate team-members, and supervising organizational activities as well as taking remedial actions. And leaders, as stated in the given argument, acquired these roles by the demands placed on them.

Judged by common sense, one cannot hold such an intuition about how to lead a team effectively. It is not until some problems were encountered that the leaders started to understand what they should do. Take the owner of a company as an example and let’s say he is also the leader of that company. It is natural for him, as a rational human being, to hope to maximize his own utilities. Therefore, he might started by thinking that he should pay as little as possible to his employees so that the cost will be lower and hence larger profit could be earned. However, things do not actually work like this. Employees would be demotivated if they are paid insufficiently and their work quality would therefore be compromised, which deteriorates the profit of the whole company. And only after the demands of appropriate salary were noticed by leaders would they begin to think about how to set an optimal motivating mechanism. Only when the group’s needs emerged would a leader be created to satisfy those needs.

However, a leader should be able to think in advance as well, that is to say, they should not be responding to demands, but rather to create demands. Many of the worlds’ most successful companies succeeded by creating demands. Before iPhone was born, no one ever thought about they want to use their fingers to control the screen directly, instead of through a keyboard. And nowadays, an increasing number of companies are trying to predict a customer’s needs and recommend products to them accordingly. These are all examples of leaders creating demands, instead of the other way around.

In conclusion, I hold that a leader is sometimes created by demands, by responding to problems encountered, but sometimes, they are able to create demands themselves as well.