Instead of asking the government to bear the cost of higher education, students should pay tuition fees themselves. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is of great significance for many people to receive college education since that can make it easier for them to find employment. Those who are in favour of the government increasing investment in university education hold that some students are unable to enter university due to high tuition fees. My view is that students should be the ones who pay their tuition, but those who come from less well-off families should be provided with financial support.

One of the reasons why I believe students should pay their own tuition fees is that they would work harder and cherish the precious opportunities to learn if they do so. This is because they will know that the costs of university education are high by paying the fees themselves, hence they will work harder to do all the assignments, pass the exams, and complete a degree on time. On the contrary, if the government bears the costs, many students would take it for granted and fail exams from time to time.

Another advantage of students covering their own tuitions is that the burden on the government could be lightened and as a result, more money could be allocated to finance primary and secondary education, which helps to eliminate illiteracy and enables more young people to attend universities. What’s more, the government would be able to provide subsidies for students pursuing post-graduate degrees, who contribute to technological innovation.

However, I also hold that students from low-income families should be exempted from tuitions. Only by doing so can these youngsters be encouraged to go to universities, acquire knowledge, hone their skills, and finally get a decent job. This is an effective way to close the wealth gap and build a fair society as well. By contrast, if these students have to pay tuition fees themselves, they may drop out of university, thereby losing the opportunity to explore their potentials.

In conclusion, the government should provide financial supports in accordance with students’ needs to make sure they are given the chance to receive an education. I am of the opinion that while disadvantaged students should be granted free education, it is impractical to abolish tuition fees altogether.