In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other countries. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

As the world becoming increasingly globalised, the exchange of domestics across borders is undergoing at an astounding rate. From my point of view, this trend can boost consumer’s living standards.

Imported goods are beneficial to consumers in several aspects, one of which being that these products are usually competitively priced. The main reason is that countries export these merchants are generally well-equipped with required technologies and knowledge to control manufacturing costs and thereby ensure the prices are affordable. For example, China has expertise in producing textile products, so these products are usually cheaper than their domestic counterparts in many parts of the world. In addition, goods imported overseas challenge the dominance of domestic manufacturers and intensify competition, which forces these domestic producers to lower prices. This also benefits local consumers as they can reduce their living expenses. It is also worth noting that more diverse options are provided for consumers when shopping. For instance, imported food can alleviate the food shortage caused by abnormal weather.

On the other hand, the downside of importing goods is that the buying country can develop an excessive reliance on imports and hence lead to the underdevelopment of certain domestic industries. For example, many countries buy computers from other countries and as a consequence, some local manufacturers go bankrupt. This can be detrimental to a self-contained economy. What’s more, transports of goods across borders can cause huge pollution since shipping by air is involved.

Therefore, it is reasonable to think that importing products from other countries has an overall positive influence on consumers as they can acquire products at a lower price, although some local companies may go out of business consequently.