It is better for students to live away from home while studying at university than living with parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many university students these days either live in a dormitory at school or share a flat with classmates. I tend to regard this as a sign of growing up, although it makes it hard for young people to maintain a day-to-day contact with their parents.

Living away from parents means the younger generation has to learn to live an independent life. Therefore, they have to acquire some life skills, such as doing household chores, managing finances, getting along with roommates and so on, which enable them to handle tasks at the workplace in the future. For example, they would know how to keep everything organized if they have the habit of cleaning their bedrooms.

In addition, college students can enjoy more freedom in their social lives and make some new friends when living away from home. This is because they do not have to go home every day, saving them more time to do a wide range of activities. For instance, they could go to the gym, attend lectures, go do assignments at the library, and even do part-time work together with their classmates. As a result, they can not only hone their social skills but also build up a network of contacts which they can draw upon in their later life.

Admittedly, there are some drawbacks of this choice, one of which being the emotional tie between children and parents would be weakened due to their fewer contacts. Students rarely have the opportunity to have meals with their parents if they live far away from home, and their parents would be unable to keep up to date with their news. Young people would feel helpless if some problems cannot be solved. What’s worse, such choice may have an adverse effect on their attitudes toward family life.

In conclusion, I hold that it is a wise decision for young people to live on their own, although it might interfere with their family relationships.