At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The proportion of elderly people in some countries, like Japan, is considerably higher while in some other regions, including some Asian and Western countries, young people comprise the highest percentage of their population. Having a larger proportion of youth is considered to have more advantages for a country and I think that a country should have more active and educated young population for faster development.

To begin with, the young generation is dynamic, energetic and can contribute to the production and job sectors of the country and this has a huge positive impact on the economic development of the country. They come with fresh ideas and are free from old superstitions and traditional beliefs. This gives them a competitive advantage for the faster progress of the country. Educated young generation is the best resource a country can have and their contribution to the country is significantly higher than the participation of children and elder people. The children are the future of a country and the elder people have already contributed. On the contrary, the young generation is the active workforce and can lead the overall growth of the country. They are the earning members while children and senior people are dependent on them. Young generation can learn things faster and can share ideas globally and this is why they are better leaders. ICT sector, for instance, is full of fresh minds and this sector is considered the most prominent one for the development of a country, especially in this era, and this sector is globally led by young people.

The contribution of the older people, however, could not be denied and they have already done their part of reforming the country. They have vast experience and historical knowledge that are vital for the decision making. They are often considered better fit for the decision making positions and the tax they have paid their entire life made the progress of the country possible.

To conclude, older people should not be considered a burden for the country, however, the young have more to contribute to the society and the country as a whole. This is why it is more beneficial for a country to have an active workforce than dependent senior citizens.