Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that since baskets were found in Lithos and it appears impossible for Paleans to cross the Brim River to get to Lithos, the woven baskets, which were thought to have been made only by Palean people, were actually not uniquely Palean. However, the argument relies on a series of unproven assumptions and is therefore unconvincing as it stands. More evidences are hence needed.

A threshold assumption upon which the argument relies is that the Brim River was as deep and broad as it is now, and therefore Palean would need boats to cross the river. This is not necessarily true. The depth and width of a river subject to a range of factors, such as weather, human activities and so on. It is entirely possible that the river used to be shallow and narrow and hence no boat would be needed for Palean to get to Lithos. What’s more, if the weather was cold and the river was frozen, Paleans could just walk across the river with their baskets. Therefore, weather conditions are important evidence to consider.

Even assuming that crossing river without a boat was not feasible for Paleans, the author relies on additional assumption that no Paleans managed to get to Lithos as no boats have been found. However, it is possible that because of techniques or other factors that are not within archaeologists’ control, boats have not been discovered yet. For example, there may be some reservation policies imposed by government which hinders the excavation. As a result, conclusion cannot be drawn that such boats do not exist. What’s more, even if no boats could really be found, we could not reach the conclusion that boats have never existed. Given that a long time has passed, the boats could be rotten, especially if they were made of wood.

Even assuming that Paleans were truly incapable of getting to Lithos, that does not mean their baskets could not arrive there. The author does not rule out the chance that Lithos are capable of making boats, traveling to Palea and then trading with Paleans for their baskets. Or, it could be that the baskets were flushed there by water. The ability to make boats by Lithos people should be investigated. And the materials of the boat should be given to consider whether it could float above water.

In conclusion, to persuade me that the baskets were made by Lithos people themselves instead of Paleans, clear evidence that the baskets did not come from Paleans should be provided.