society should prepare its young people of leadership in government, industry, or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, rather than competition.

The speaker contends that the best way to prepare young people for leadership in many fields is by cultivating a sense of cooperation instead of competition. However, is it enough for cooperation alone to lead to success? I personally do not think so. Admittedly, cooperation is important in today's world, but a sense of competition is indispensable as well.

No matter it is in government, industry, or any other fields, leadership is all about uniting people into a cohesive group and guiding them to achieve common goals. Everyone contributes their parts to the success and only if every one of them works toward one direction could they ultimately be successful. Therefore, cooperation plays a significant role in every organization. Leader is responsible for setting the cultural tone for an organization and promoting the sense of cooperation, which is why a leader should learn how to cooperate in the first place.

What's more, cooperation also exists between organizations. It is impossible for an organization to live on its own, especially with the development of globalization. Government of different countries need to reach consensus, for example, on trade policies and help each other when catastrophes happen. This is also true in the business world. Take Apple Co. as an example, it outsources the production to many other companies in or outside of the United States. Without the cooperation with those manufacturing partners, Apple would at least be less profitable. Cooperation enables organizations to utilize other's strengths and compensate for their own weaknesses. Therefore, gaining a sense of cooperation is crucial for a successful leader.

However, the fact that competition is also of great significance cannot be ignored. One would easily be complacent without comparing with others. With competition, an organization has no choice but to continually improve itself because otherwise it would perish and this encourages innovation and development, which is beneficial not only for the organization, but also for the whole society. A leader without the sense of competition would be overly focused on himself, having no knowledge about how the world and his competitors are changing, being unable to keep abreast with the trend and hence easily be defeated.

To sum up, the sense of competition is as important as sense of cooperation and a society should prepare its youngsters for leadership by instilling in them both the senses if they are to succeed.