CLAIM Young people s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills REASON These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than ful

The advent of portable devices like mobile phones and tablets and their wide availability especially among the young generation (people, decades before, couldn’t even have imagined in their most bizarre dreams) has hindered the development of the true social lives of these young people. I mostly agree with the reason that has been mentioned that these devices encourage users to build ersatz social status which travels them through fake relationships that they make online, however, some benefits can’t be ignored that have also helped people to enhance their personalities. You know what, the case is that there are good users and also misusers of everything and the impact these gadgets can have on lives is highly dependent on how and by whom they are used.

Firstly, today it can be seen that children from a very young age have phones in their hands. Their minds are highly mutable at this age; whatever they see or listen they try to copy or imitate it, though insensibly. As it is a ‘can’t doubt’ truth that people’s social media lives and real lives are poles apart, to be honest, so whatever’s fed to children’s minds through social media, they believe it to be the case and either want to be like those people or compete with them. They try to fit in others' circles and want to make themselves up according to others' standards. In all this drama, the one thing that young people forget is that they have a social life around them; they are immensely submerged into building something that is not real and eventually would fall apart and that thing is their fake personality. They should go out instead, interact with some real people, not some anonymous users, and make friends. This is how one would be able to come out of their comfort zone and find a good social life.

Further, the stark ignorance of the fact that temporary connections through disguised personalities can result in complete disconnection from people who know exactly how and what one is. There’s one advertisement in which it shows that how the over-indulgence in these gadgets affects the invaluable relationships with people around us. A mother asks her son to install social media applications into her old phone so that her son, by doing so, would now talk to her also like he does with his online friends all the time, and by this method, there would be a little conversation between them, finally. It propounds a very deep message that how much our social relations are getting hurt. People are sitting at the dining table, having dinner with their families, and the environment is pin-drop silent, the reason being everyone’s on their phones; they are close but not together. It is said that verbal conversation and gestures portray one’s true self, and it can never be compared with the new feature of emojis that is widely used now because people can fake it there too. Hence, it is very much required to invest in valuing the relationships that one has now and spend more time with loved ones, who accept their true selves and yet never complain for not being what they, falsely, purport to be on the internet.

While there are multitudes of comments that support the claim and the reason mentioned above, there are also facts which completely oppose them. These gadgets have not only hampered the development of social skills but have also served in building many too. Through these devices, for instance, people can learn how to develop their personalities using numerous courses, waking up in the morning and getting motivated for the whole day by motivational speeches through different websites, undoubtedly, the abridged distance between people through the use of video conferencing and many more. People, now, can connect to more natives all around the world, talk and chat with them, and learn about their culture without having to spend on the expenses of travel for the experience and knowledge they can get through these gadgets. Some matrimonial sites have also come out to be a life-changing medium for many, same with other applications too. By engaging in these devices people are making their circles vast. These are the various examples of how these gadgets have improved people’s social lives as well and have proved to be a boon to them.

To sum up, although portable technology has good consequences in constructing one’s demeanour in some ways, however, the extensive usage of these portable devices means spending most of the time of the day on the phone equals less time available to interact with people around oneself in real life. Moreover, spending more time on phones means engaging with unnecessary content and trying to incorporate those things into real life and hence, deviating from what a person’s true nature is.