The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

As the prompt suggests that neglecting bad demeanours and highlighting good deeds is the best way to teach someone is something that I don’t agree with to some extent and argue that although always pointing out mistakes in someone makes them bitter in some ways however if mistakes are corrected positively then it may change the whole scenario. Below mentioned are two reasons through which I support my stand.

First of all, scolding and reprimanding are strict and severe ways to prevent an unacceptable situation from happening again. For instance, when a child steals money for the first time and gets caught by her mother, it would be wrong for the mother to let this issue slide thinking he/she is just a child, it wouldn’t happen again, or I would scold them the next I catch them. In an Indian advertisement, it was beautifully shown how a mother in a very patriarchal family punishes her son by not serving him dinner. She was reproached by every member of the family for being cruel to a 10-year-old boy, who stole 10 rupees. Yet she was determined and in addition the head of the family, her father-in-law praised her for taking this step because he knew that she isn’t being just cruel but right. Just like any mother in the world is expected would have done, she also hadn’t had dinner that night. The above-mentioned example portrays that it’s not always easy to take such tough actions but one has to do it to stop something more terrible from happening. And hence lesson learned successfully!

As a very common philosophical question goes by “a glass is half empty or half full?”, it makes sense that it all depends on how one perceives something. In a Netflix series, for example, a teenage girl is shown as super intelligent, however, once she tries to cheat in an “Inter-School Extempore competition”, but fails to do so as the teacher already notices her peeking and hence changes the subject. Though, very perplexed at the beginning, she wins anyhow because she is an exceptional case. The teacher extols her in front of everyone. Then, the teacher brings her home and complains to her parents about her cheating in private. And her parents thank him for not making this issue public, or else her hard work to date would have gone in vain. Then the teacher enlightens her on how she is different from others, and others are also different from her in the fields that interest them, and also makes her believe that she is already best at everything, all she needs to do is trust herself. This example depicts that it isn’t always the case that scolding and insulting are the only options. Sometimes, one may be positive about it that some people may also learn through praises and a little scolding in private.

All in all, scolding and punishing, on one hand, is a tough way to teach someone, while praising and enthralling someone for good behaviour and actions, on the other hand, are smooth ways. Hence, Scolding and praising both make people grow as a whole.