CLAIM Young people s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills REASON These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than ful

Nowadays, the extensive use of both portable and unportable electronic devices, not only just by youngster but also by adults, such as smartphones, tablets, laptops, and so on, is evident. There are different opinions on the adverse impacts that usage of these devices might have on young people. Some people hold the idea that overuse of these devices by children and youngsters adversely affects their ability to build relationships with people in real world. However, others, with whom I comply, believe that not only does utilization of these devices by young people provide them with sharp increase in their interpersonal and social skills, but it also helps those who does not have the prerequisites of cultivating and maintaining a proper social relationships, be able to do so. In what follows, I will delineate my viewpoint on the ground of two persuasive reasons.

Without a doubt, the most consequential point corroborating my stance on this subject is internet and electronic devices has breached the limitation of countries' frontiers. Today, peoples, no matter where they live, can contact with each other thanks to internet, social media, and related applications such as Instagram, Skype, Zoom, and so forth. People, particularly young ones, are now able to talk or chat with people living in different countries with different culture and social behavior. People improve their social skills by talking to other people from disparate nations and implement what they have learned from their abroad friends in their real-life relationships. The more youngsters talk to peoples holding not similar social or cultural criteria as they do, the more they are likely to increase their social ability. There was a survey conducted on this subject by the researchers at MIT, last year. The result of the research showed that young people who are inclined to spend a considerable time in social media or dating and texting applications are more social than who are not.

Although the previous point is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable reason deserving some words here is that many young people do not hold social skill inherently. They do not feel comfortable in public places, and prefer to stay at home and be away from other people. Electronic devices and social media are dramatically helpful to these people. They can find friends in social media, talk to them, and share their workaday stuff with them. Accordingly, after a while, they are likely to become more social, and they may feel even more convenient in public places. If not for the technology and electronic devices, these young people might never find the chance to increase their social skill.

To make the long story short, and reflecting upon all the aforementioned grounds, one soon realizes that electronic devices are better to be considered as machine propels youth toward cultivating promising and long-lasting social relationships rather than as an impediment that stunt the growth of social ability in youngsters.