The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year’s election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in

the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of

young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their

mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of

young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a

regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social

media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about

current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who

vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in

Lamont because more of Chiswick’s young adults actively participate in social media."

The editorial of Lamont Times claims that the reason Chiswick has a higher percentage of young voters in the difference in social media interest. While the statistics of the case do correlate with this conclusion, the writer did not provide enough information to claim it "clearly" true. There are many alternative explanations left unexplored.

Firstly, why does the survey only poll young adults while the conclusion encompasses all? This writer claims the majority of Lamont locals do not participate in elections. The percentage of Chiswick outways the former and this discrepancy matches the survey of social media users. It is true that young adults are often eager and active members of the voting public, but to base the town's overall numbers on them is extreme. The article has not provided the percentage of voters that fall in the young adult category. The majority may be another group all together leading to an entirely different possibility for a cause.

Second, the article fails to disclose the population of both towns. This is a large factor when studying these correlations. If Landon has a smaller number of people there is a high likelihood that these statistics are inflated. One potential voter would hold more weight than a much larger pool. The writer does not consider this or offer concrete evidence that these towns are comparable.

Lastly, social media is not the sole signifier of a knowledgeable voter. The fact that young people have considered themselves enlightened does not automatically make them so. Social media is filled with bias and propaganda, not to mention outright lies about any opposition. This does not make for calculated and researched decision making by participation alone. The assumption that this tendency is the sole reason for the tipping scale is baseless.

In conclusion, while one cannot say the writer gives no explanation for his theory, it has not been substantiated until the missing information I pointed out is included. If the author does more research to support their claim and bridge the gap between other theories, the argument can be deemed valid. As it stands now, it does not hold water.