The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities Recently we signed a contract with the Fly Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehous

In the argument, the author proposes that Buzzoff should be employed to control pests in order to save money. To corroborate this conclusion, the author points out that the lost due to pest damage of the warehouse in Palm City, which serviced by Fly-Away is higher than the warehouse in Wintervale, which serviced by Buzzoff. However, the author should evaluate the assumptions ti establish the argument strongly.

To begin with, the author assumes that the food stored in both warehouses are about the same. However, the author should evaluate the assumption. It is possible that the food stored in each warehouse is different. For instance, Palm City may be a international port, and the warehouse is always filled with expensive imported seafood. On the contrary, Wintervale is in a rice production area, and the warehouse usaully store a large amount of relatively cheap rice. As a result, even the pest control in the Palm CIty warehouse did pretty well, it still destroyed some food worthed $20,000, but the Wintervale warehouse almost lost all rice stored in it, worthed $10,000 in total, because of pest damage. In this case, the Fly-Away perform far more effective than Buzzoff. If the author eliminates the possibilities which weaken the assumption, the argument and the conclusion might be more persuasive.

Furthemore, although the food stored in each warehouse are identical, the author also assumes that Buzzoff will be equally effective in both cities. But Buzzoff may only expert in pest control in Wintervale but is not suitable for warehouse in Palm City for different environmental conditions. To be more specific, most of day in a year in Wintervale may be cool and dry, so only few pests can grow in such environment. However, since the weather in Palm City might be more moisty and warm, more and various pests may can thrive in the warehouse. As a result, despite employing Buzzoff back to control the pests in the warehouse, it may not be that effective as it was in Wintervale, or even worse than Fly-Away. In addition, probably it is exactly because of its ineffectiveness, Fly-Away was employed years ago. In these cases, if the author can eliminate these possiblities, the argument could be strengthen.

While the conclusion and the whole argument might be plausible, the author should assess the assumptions to substantiate the argument. Had the author considered the possible scenarios to strengthen the assumotions, the argument and the conclusion might have been persuasive.