As people rely more and more on technology, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

In today’s world we depend on technology to a great extent. Not only it makes our lives easier and comfortable but also increases the productivity of an individual. However, the speaker here asserts that dependence on technology has made ourselves incapable of doing complex tasks and hence, deteriorate our thinking abilities. Humans are not able to think creatively due to relying in technology. In my view, I feel that technology not always limits our abilities to think in a different manner rather it urges us to think in creative and effective ways.

Technology helps us to perform complex tasks in our everyday lives which otherwise, without its existence would have made them tedious and arduous. Consider the example of a SUV car which we use to commute to our workplace which saves us a considerable amount of time or the example of a washing machine which aids us to wash our clothes daily thus, eliminating the human labor and making our lives comfortable. As a result, a considerable amount of time is saved and less human efforts are needed. This enables humans to think for themselves and take care of their health and ensure their well-being rather than doing the monotonous routine work daily.

Consider how humans would have built computers and mobile phones using silicon transistors or develop various operating systems using programming languages that would work along with these hardware components and make our everyday work easier and more comfortable. All these required the evolution of technology by which such wonderful machines could be launched in the market and led to an era digital revolution. Development of such advanced technologies always need scientific and creative method of thinking. Therefore, as we demand more of technological inventions, thinking process is enhanced that too in a creative and an innovative manner.

Also, technology sometimes brings in new and complex problems in everyday life. To deal with those, we have to think beyond our boundaries and bring in an effective solution. For instance, excessive use of automobiles in everyday life which burns more and more fuel and thus, resulting in emission of pollutants to the environment causing pollution. Such problems urge humans to think from the point of view to protect the environment by reducing pollution rather than thinking about the benefits of automobiles in daily life.

However, too much dependence on technology also limits the thinking abilities of an individual. For instance, humans use calculator to perform mathematical calculations in everyday life. To the extent that even simple calculations are performed using calculator. As a result, problem solving abilities are deteriorated and thus, we limit to think for ourselves. Also, children these days have become excessively dependent on technology. For instance, addiction to mobile phones and video games have affected their focus to concentrate on themselves and thus, they become incapable to think of themselves.

Hence, I conclude by stating that technology does not completely deteriorate abilities of humans to think rather it enhances them by breaking the boundaries and think in a different and effective way. But, sometimes too much dependency also restricts the ability of humans to think of themselves. It is upon them how they make use of technology in this digital revolution.