People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is an essential process in today’s world. Be it a workplace, school, home, government, military or a business organization, decision making plays a major role in everyday life. The author states two claims. First, people who make decision based on emotion are poor decision makers. Second, justifying those decisions with logic is also poor decision making. I strongly agree with both the claims made by the author.

Making decision based only on emotions takes into account of our instincts or the so called gut feeling. Such decisions do not hold any logic. In the contemporary world, any decision cannot be solely taken on the basis of emotion. We need to justify our decisions to others and that cannot be done unless we explain the reasoning behind making such a decision. Consider a basic example of a child demanding for a mobile phone from his parents. Parents cannot gift their children a mobile phone emotionally. They need to think logically and smartly in order to make such decision. Several factors like its need, relevance, advantages and disadvantages need to be taken into account and then make a decision logically. Consider an example of a student who has passed tenth grade and is left to choose a suitable field of study in high school. Such a student cannot make a decision solely on emotions or instincts to choose the field of study. Many factors need to be taken into account like the passion, aptitude, intelligence, areas of interest, career plans etc. Taking these into account will then lead a student to take a sound decision of the relevant field of study to choose in high school.

Also, such decisions based only on emotions do not take into account of the facts, evidences, history, empirical data and records. Consider an example of an investigation of a murder case or a scandal, decisions need to be sound and justifiable based on the evidences and facts which are garnered as a part of investigation. Making decisions solely on emotions will lead biased decision making and won’t provide justice to the citizens. Consider another example of a business corporation which is planning for making huge investments in potential sectors in the years to come. Making decisions involving such huge capital cannot be made solely on the basis of emotions. Proper market research involving statistical approach need to be done for making such a decision.

In addition to making decisions emotionally, justifying them with logic prove them to be lame and flimsy. Justifying those decisions with logic partially take into account the reasoning with proper logic involved behind taking such decisions. As a result, such decision tend to be illogical and result in being a catastrophe. Consider the example of a military organization planning to retaliate to the recent attacks on its soldiers. Making decision of revenge and retaliation cannot be taken solely on basis of the emotions and sentiments behind loss of their soldiers. Proper and sound planning along with a perfect strategy and timeline need to be taken into account behind making such decisions.

Hence, I conclude by asserting that sound decision making cannot be solely made on the basis of emotions. In addition to emotions, various other elements such as empirical evidences, statistics, facts, history, records, strategy, proper planning need to be taken into account for making a proper decision. Then, only we can be called sound decision makers.