The following is taken from a memo from advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And, yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The advertising director of the Super Screen movie company makes three claims. First, that the public’s lack of awareness on the good quality movies that are available. Second, the movies made by the company are well enough in their quality. Third, contents of the reviews are not reaching the prospective viewers. The director supports all of these claims by presenting a fact that despite of fewer people attending the movies produced by the company the percentage of positive reviews increased during the past year. Also, the director makes a recommendation based on the claim that Super Screen should allocate greater share of its budget next year on advertising to the public. However, in my view I find that the claims and recommendations of the advertising director to be unsubstantial and require a thorough analysis.

Firstly, the advertising director makes a claim that the movies made by Super Screen Company are of good quality based on the fact that there is an increase in the percentage of positive reviews by the reviewers. However, just by an increase in percentage of positive reviews cannot justify that the movies are of good quality. We need a close scrutiny to the background of the reviewers and how each of them understands and interprets a movie in order to assign credibility to their reviews. It could be that the positive reviews were given by someone who is not very much fond of watching movies and lacks a sense on how to judge and rate a movie. Or, it could be that the movie company had did not encourage some of the negative reviews and omitted them in order to increase the percentage share of positive reviews of their movies in the past year.

Secondly, the advertising director also claims that the public lack the awareness of the good movies based on the fact that despite of increase in the reviews of its movies in the past year fewer people watched their movies. However, it could be that the subject matter and the genre of the films produced by the company are interesting only to a few people and therefore, people turn out to watch the movies produced by the company. Also, it could be that the movies produced the company have its subject matter which are jargon and could be understood only by a few percentage of its viewers.

Thirdly, the author makes a claim that the content of the reviews are not reaching the prospective viewers based on the fact that fewer people watch their movies despite of the positive reviews of them by the reviewers. However, it may happen that due to jargon type content of the movies, a majority the viewers are not interested to know to reviews of those movies feeling the subject matter to be foreign of their taste of movies. Or, it could happen that the public find the reviewers of those positive reviews as amateur or noob to review such type of movies.

All of the claims rest on certain doubtful assumptions. First, the reviewers who gave positive reviews in the past year are a film critic who have a better understanding and reviewing of a movie based on its content and story. Second, the subject or the genre of the movies produced are interesting to the general viewers.

Therefore, the claims made by the advertising director rest on certain doubtful assumptions. Verification of these assumptions will provide strong hold on the claims made by the director. Also, the recommendation made by the advertising director to increase its share of budget next year will be justifiable if the director verifies the underlying assumptions in the claims made and provide strong hold to the claims.