Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Decision making is a very crucial process in today’s life. In every sphere of our life we need to make certain decision to ensure happiness and satisfaction. Decision making is a complex and a tedious process and also, involves a significant amount of risk. The author here states that knowing about past isn’t at all beneficial to make important decisions in today’s world. However in my view, I partly agree with the author.

For a better decision making we need to consider various factors which directly or indirectly affect the process to the present day. Consider the case of a situation where an individual is to decide to buy a car or commute to work using public transport. Seeing the present day situation of traffic congestion and vehicular pollution, the individual will be compelled to rely on public transport for commuting to work. Consider another example in relation to this situation where the government of Singapore has banned the sale of automobiles in response to the land scarcity in the island which has left no room for the expansion of its roads. Hence, considering the present day factors is essential for making an effective decision.

Also, in addition to rely on past events or long established facts, we need to realize that with the course of time certain established facts, traditions, customs or beliefs may tend to change. Consider the example of an environmentalist who is predicting the weather patterns of a certain region for a particular period of time. Certain other facts other than past climatological data need to be considered like the effects of global warming, the turning of the tides, ozone layer depletion etc. in order to predict the weather patterns in the near future. Hence, we need to keep in mind that certain factors or situations tend to change with time and we need to take them in account for a better decision making.

However, considering the past cannot be completely neglected in order to make a proper and effective decision. Past always lays the basis or the foundation for decision making in the present times. Consider the example of a beverage company which is to diversify its products in order to expand its market and boost the sales volume of its product. For making such a decision the analysts of the company have to take into account certain past evidences like sales of its current products in the previous years, market trends in the past, growth rates of their product sales over the past years, customer satisfaction with the current products etc. in order to verify that diversification to be successful and make a sound decision to diversify its products and further, expand its market. Hence, for making such crucial decision we initially need to rely on the past facts and evidences which can make them a basis for the present day decision making.

In sum, we need to take into account the present day scenario along with the past events, evidences, statistics, facts and data in a balanced manner in order make a proper and sound decision. Missing any of those will hinder the process of an effective decision making.