Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author here makes two claims. First, that many lives could be saved in the areas where cow flu disease was detected if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered. Second, that we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of these inoculations. In my view, I feel that both the claims made by the author are unsubstantial and require a close scrutiny.

Firstly, the author claims that many lives could be saved if the vaccinations against cow flu were administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, the author overlooks the fact that the world is huge and the disease could have been widespread to the large parts of the world and as it is widespread disease it could have been that the vaccinations against cow flu were available only in fewer areas where the disease is detected. Or, it could have been that the vaccination against cow flu were discovered recently and needed some time to reach out to the other parts of the world where disease is detected. Also, it could have been that vaccinations developed against cow flu were ineffective and didn't make a person immune to cow flu. Therefore, just on the assumption that if the vaccinations against cow flu were routinely administered many lives could have been saved make the authors claim unsubstantial.

Secondly, on the other side the author claims that we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be administered routinely as there is a small possibility that a person will die. However, we cannot just assume that as a person is once vaccinated the chances of his death decrease because any disease makes advancements as years pass by. Therefore, there are regular advancements of a vaccination of a particular disease. Therefore, we need to take those vaccinations regularly as they are developed as per latest advancement. Also, it could be that the number of deaths due to cow flu disease have remain unchanged after vaccination process thus rendering the vaccination process futile. Hence, we need to permit routine administration of inoculations against cow flu disease.

Finally, the claims made by author rest on certain doubtful assumptions. First, whether the vaccinations are effective to make a person immune against cow flu disease. Second, whether the vaccinations against the cow flu disease are readily available in the world.

Third, whether vaccinations against cow flu reduced the number of deaths due to cow flu disease.

In sum, the author should verify certain assumption that vaccinations are readily available everywhere in the world an also they are effective in preventing cow flu disease.