A nation should require its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author here prefers for all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I agree with this position of the author where a common curriculum will be followed by all the students of the nation and will serve to benefit the nation’s interests. However, at the same time individual states should also be given privilege to some extent to decide upon the curriculum of its students otherwise it will impede its students from serving its own purposes.

A national core curriculum will be beneficial to its students in a number of aspects. Firstly, all students will be imparted with fundamental values and knowledge along with fundamental skills which will make them productive members of a nation as a whole. Secondly, building a common core curriculum for all students of a nation will eliminate the regional disparities by providing students of every region or state with a uniform education which consists of the same fundamental knowledge and skills. Consider the example of a country like India which has a central education board along with state education boards. The curriculum and educational standards of each of the boards are at disparate levels and as a result, in a group of college students, there is a non-uniform representation of students by states. Thirdly, a national core curriculum will also provide a foundation upon which college administrators and faculty can more easily build a curriculum and select course materials for freshmen which are neither above nor below their level of educational experience. Finally, a common curriculum will also ensure its students are taught the same ideals and values upon which a democratic society survives upon and even survive values such as tolerance of others with different viewpoints and respect for others.

However, a common core curriculum which is also an exclusive one will pose certain problems, which might outweigh its benefits. Firstly, on what basis should subject be included or excluded in a common curriculum and who will be the final decision maker? In all these likely decisions the educators and legislator will have their own notions of what should and should not be taught in school. But, these notions may not reflect those of most parents, schools and communities. Secondly, a national curriculum may not include courses or subjects which are important to the students of a particular state or a region. As a result, they will miss out studying those subjects which are of regional or local significance. For example, India is a country with various states consisting of a diverse population. Having a national curriculum will exclude the subjects of regional or state languages or their local cultures and therefore, students will miss out learning the cultures, traditions, and languages of their respective states. Thirdly, a national curriculum in schools will undermine the authority of the parents in selecting the curriculum of their children in schools. Building a national curriculum will rest on the decisions made by the legislators and regulators and parents will not have any role in the decision-making process.

In sum, a national curriculum at school level will ensure all students with a uniform fundamental education and also, provide them with opportunities at par with nation’s interests but at the same time, it will serve to obliterate the cultural values and traditions. In my view, a balanced approach will be the one where a nation imposes a basic curriculum and leaves rest the rest upon the state or the community.