Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time.

It is a proven fact that truth is an initial stage of progress. However, it is also believed that truths always begins from traditions and conventions. Therefore, people consider truths as attacks upon their beliefs, which they are following from ages. Truth also means some newly discovered facts. However, people seldom wish to deviate from the facts which they have learnt from their ancestors and consider those newly discovered facts as they feel it will attack their own wisdom.

Consider the present day scenario of the Sabarimala Temple in the Indian state of Kerala. Women of menstrual age are prohibited entry into this temple because the deity of this temple had a celibate nature. But, a recent judgment of the Supreme Court of India granted entry to women to the shrine on the grounds of right to equality and freedom of religion. However, entry of women into this temple result into huge protests and violence leading to a state of unrest in the Indian state of Kerala. This completely shows that people of Kerala are reluctant to consider the truth of equality and religious freedom as it would attack upon their own customs and practices which they are following from ages.

Also we can consider a few examples in the past where truth began as outrageous and uncomfortable among public. When Charles Darwin gave the theory of evolution which challenged the old ideology, he was resisted by public. Nobody was ready to believe that apes were the ancestors of mankind. Similarly, when Copernicus discovered that Earth goes round the sun and not vice versa, he was opposed by churches for many years. In fact he and his supporters were convicted for many years. Hence, it is very difficult to change the traditions followed by the society.

There are many reasons behind this uncomfortable reactions against truth. First, the human nature does not prefer to change the way of their life and thinking. They follow their beliefs and customs as they are prevalent from the very beginning. They strongly believe in what they are doing and experiencing their whole life. The second reason that deviating from old traditions and beliefs and accepting newly discovered truths often results into the person being excluded from a particular religion or a society.

However, people have also started to get open minded in few parts of the world. Our societies have become flexible to accept new ideas and beliefs by deviating from their old traditions. Look at the example of how Chinese citizens voted in favor of quashing a rule in its constitution of the limitation of only two five year terms served by its President in order to accept its Xi Jinping’s as its President for the third consecutive term.

The conclusion is that important truths which challenge the proven wisdom always face oppression. However, if they hold any solid ground they can be accepted over a period of time after facing trials.