Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Here, the author makes two claims. Firstly, he claims that the baskets discovered by the archaeologists in Lithos village as not uniquely Palean. The author supports his claim by presenting the fact that Lithos is an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. Brim River is very deep and broad and it could have only been crossed by boat. But, no such boats have been found on the river banks of the Brim River. Secondly, he claims that the woven baskets with distinctive patterns were made only by the Palean people. To support this claims the author presents the fact that these woven baskets were found in the immediate vicinity of the Palea village. However, close scrutiny of these facts lend no credible support to the claims made by the author.

Firstly, the author claims that the woven baskets recently discovered by the archaeologists in Lithos village across banks of Brim River as not uniquely Palean on the basis of the fact that no boats were found on the banks of the river. The author cannot justify on the basis of presence of the boat that ancient Paleans did not visit the Lithos village. It could happen that all the boats used by Paleans to cross the river returned to the other side of the river. Or, it could have been that Paleans would have visited Lithos village a long time, left over their baskets which were later discovered by the archaeologists and went back to their native village, Palea. Also, it could have been that the Paleans used any other mode of transportation like a ship, cruise or ferry which could have dropped them in the Lithos village and left that place for its return journey. Therefore, by the mere absence of boats the author cannot claim the baskets discovered by archaeologists were not Palean ones.

Secondly, the author claims that Brim River could have been crossed only by boat as the river is very deep and broad. However, we cannot conclude by the depth and broadness of a river that it cannot be crossed by anyone without any means of transportation. Maybe, the villagers of Palea could have been experts in swimming and they could have crossed the river themselves by swimming across the width of the river and reaching the bank of the river in the Lithos village.

Thirdly, the author claims that the woven baskets with particular distinctive patterns to be made by Palean people as they were found in the vicinity of Palea village. However, a basket which was found the in the proximity of a village cannot be said to belong to that village. Maybe, there could have been another village nearby in addition to the Palea village. Also, as the basket was found in the past in the vicinity of Palea village cannot imply that the baskets been by the Palean people. It could have been that any outsider visited Palea village with their baskets and left them over in that village. Maybe, at present the baskets are found in any other village where they originally belong.

Finally, the claims of the author rest on certain number of assumptions. First, boat is the only means of transport on the Brim River. Second, the boats used by Palean people belonged to the Lithos village that it should have been found there. Third, the Paleans visited the Lithos a day before the archaeologists found the woven baskets in Lithos village. Fourth, there is only Palea village in the immediate vicinity of the place where the woven baskets were previously found.

In sum, the claims made by author rely on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing. To bolster these claims the author should verify that there is only one village Palea in the immediate vicinity of the spot where woven baskets were earlier found. Also, the author should verify that villagers of Palea know how to swim or not and if they don’t, then also, verify that boat is the only mode of transportation on the Brim River. Additionally, the author should study the pattern used on those baskets and also the materials used to make them to determine the origin of those baskets. All these verifications will provide a strong hold to the claims made by the author.