Many students today have their own cell phones and take them everyplace they go. This becomes a problem when they bring them into classroom. Schools should completely ban the presence of cell phones in the classroom.

Cell phones have been popular in use throughout the world and have been used by people of all ages. Students all over the world are fantasized by cell phones in this tech-crazy world. The author here asserts that many students today have their own cell phones and take them everywhere they go. In fact, they take their cell phones to the classroom and it poses a serious problem. Therefore, the author recommends to ban the presence of cell phones in the classroom. However, in my view I agree partially agree with the author.

Cell phones today are a huge element of distraction to most of the students who use them. Students all over the world are engaging in various activities happening in their cell phone like gaming, chatting, and surfing over the internet to a greater extent. As a result, all these activities today are producing a negative effect in their studies as well in personal life. Consider a student busy gaming whole day on the cell phone. Such a student develops a sense of hatred and it also affects his mental behavior in the society. Or, consider the case of a student busy whole day chatting with peers on the cell phone. Such activities shift the focus of the students from their studies and have detrimental results in their academic life. The problem today of most of the students is that they lack the sense of their limits to which they should use their cell phones.

Even in classrooms, when a teacher is teaching an important topic, some students are busy in their own world of their cell phones. As a result, such nuisances disturb the whole classroom as teaching process is affected which produces a negative effect on other students as well. Also, the discipline of a classroom is put to danger when such students use cell phones inside the classroom. Therefore, most of the institutions and schools are putting a ban on the presence of mobile phones inside the classroom as it impedes the process of learning. In fact, many schools and universities impose heavy fines on the students who are caught with mobile phones inside their classroom or campus. Such a ban has produced some positive results as students are isolated from these sources of distraction and hence, can effectively concentrate on their studies.

However, such a ban is only beneficial when a student is within boundaries of school or university campus. When a student steps outside the classroom or the campus of a school or a university, cell phone can again keep them engaged in their own destructive activities. Hence, by merely putting such a ban in classroom or school campus cannot ensure that students reduce their use of cell phones. Also, another limitation of such a ban is that a cell phones have numerous advantages that outweigh its disadvantages. Cell phones can be used a fruitful source of learning as students can obtain information from a plethora of websites. Also, such cell phones can keep the students updated on the technological development going on in this digital era. Therefore, we can find that cell phones have numerous advantages and disadvantages as well.

In sum, I conclude by stating that banning the presence of cell phones in classroom is not a complete solution for the students to avoid the problem of using cell phones. Rather, the students should be taught how to make a proper and judicious use of cell phones as these device have their own pros and cons. Also, parents must keep a check on the use of cell phones by the students and warn them time to time in case of excessive use.