Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals have been known to exist since the beginning of mankind. From, politics to business, education to sports, moral to literary or artistic; scandals have been prevalent in wide variety of areas. In contemporary world with the growth of mass media and journalism, scandals have become a popular phenomenon throughout the world. Public interest towards scandals have grown significantly due much independent media exposing and revealing mystic information and data related to a scandal. Also, with the eruption of greed, lust and abuse of power societies today breach those moral and ethical norms and have become more scandalized.

The author claims that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer could not. Exposing of a scandal often reveal the misdoings of the persons involved in the scandal, breaching those moral and ethical practices and code of conduct. As a result, scandal help out to bring the covert faces of the wrongdoers and proving them guilty of a crime. However, in my view I agree with the author but partially.

Scandals are mainly accusations which receive a huge exposure. They tend to highlight the hidden problems in our society. As a result, the public becomes aware of these so called hidden problems which could prove to be catastrophic in the future if not exposed. Be it any field politics, sports, business, sexual or literary scandals have proved to be of a widespread interest throughout the world. In politics, scandals have been beneficial as they have exposed some of the corrupt politicians and held them guilty to the court of law. Consider the example of 2G scandal in India, in which telecom minister was held guilty for alleged sale of spectrum at lower prices and siphoning off a huge sum of money for several years. In sports, scandals have been beneficial in exposing the malpractices involved in playing them. The most common one is the practice of match fixing. Many cases of match fixing have been exposed in wide variety of sports. Consider the example of 2000 Match Fixing Scandal in cricket involving mainly the Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin along with the South African bowler Hansie Cronje Exposure of these players resulted in permanent ban of them from all formats of cricket. In business, scandals have resulted into huge losses for the company. Consider the example of PNB scandal in which diamond baron Nirav Modi is accused of fleeing away with a loan of 11000 crores to the bank. Apart from public sphere scandals have also exposed private life of an individuals. Sex scandals can be considered one of them. Consider the sex scandals of the famous golf player Tiger Woods which faded away career of the best golf player of all times.

However, many of the times scandals are also used to distract the attention of the general public from the main issues prevalent in our society. Consider the example of the Rafale Jet scandal in India, in which opposition parties accuse the government with baseless allegations to mislead the public. Also, many of the times scandals come out to be false allegations with the motive to defame the accused. Often, scandals are used as means of personal gains by the accuser rather than uncovering them with true accusations for the betterment of society.

Therefore, I assert that scandals are useful as they focus our attention on problems if they are accompanied by accusations holding solid grounds to prove them. Otherwise, they just act as a distraction for the public if used for personal gains without having any solid grounds for allegations made using them.