Question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of life.

Life is full of accepted ideas, beliefs and facts which are known to us by our ancestors since the beginning of time. These ever accepted beliefs shape our understanding of our life and hence constitute the wisdom of the mankind. However, the author claims that we need to question these accepted wisdom in order to advance our understanding of life. We need to deviate from the facts and beliefs which have been known to us from our ancestors. Only then we can achieve some advancements in various fields.

If we look at the field of science, we will find many examples where advancements were achieved by questioning the accepted wisdom. Darwin’s theory of evolution gave way to a new understanding of evolution of mankind. It proved that apes were the ancestors of mankind. Although, this theory was opposed by public in the beginning but later it was readily accepted by the world due to the solid ground it holds. Similarly, Copernicus discovered that the Earth goes around the Sun and not vice versa gave way to the new understanding of the rotation and revolution of Earth in the solar system. This theory was at first opposed by churches for many years but Copernicus could give proper scientific explanations to prove his theory. All the examples indicate that we definitely need to deviate from the ideas, beliefs, facts and ideologies which are known to us from years in order to achieve advancements in various fields. Also, questioning the accepted wisdom open doors of development in various fields.

However, there are also instances where questioning the accepted wisdom proved to be an attack on the ever accepted traditions and beliefs. Consider the example of religion where many people questioned the existence of God claiming that God actually doesn’t exist. Such questioning proved to be baneful as various religious leaders and followers condemned them for such remarks about the existence of God. Similarly, there was a recent judgement by the Supreme Court of India which permitted the entry of women of menstrual age in the shrine of Sabarimala Temple in the Indian state of Kerala which was earlier prohibited due to celibate nature of the deity. As, a result there was widespread violence in the state of Kerala and attacks on women activists who attempted to enter the holy shrine. As a result, questioning the accepted beliefs and traditions proved to be harmful for the mankind.

Hence, I conclude by stating that it is important to question authority by challenging the accepted beliefs, ideologies and facts in order to advance and pave the way for development in different fields. However, to challenge those accepted wisdom we need to present our claims with some solid grounds and provide enough explanations with best approach to prove our claims. Only in this way we can alter the accepted wisdom which serves to achieve a better understanding of life.