All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies these days have always been concerned over their performance and sought better ways to improve it. Indeed, these days we can find that companies hire outside consultants to suggest them ways to operate more efficiently. However, the author here asserts that if the companies spent more time listening to their employees for improvement of their performance then such consultants would be unnecessary. In my view, I somehow agree with the author but not fully.

Companies always have its full-time employees who have been working for years and known their company better than the outside consultants. Those employees have been actually more associated with the operations and functioning of the company. As a result, they will always know better the advantages and the drawbacks of the daily activities of the company. They can identify the real life problems and limitations which they face during their routine activities and hence, suggest us better the areas in which they are actually lagging and need to improve to enhance their performance and efficiency. Moreover, the employees are working since years in these and are loyal to their company. Hence, they will always work for the betterment of the company and help their company to achieve greater heights.

Also, certain decisions related to its operations and activities cannot be taken by the outside consultants as they are not fully associated with the company. Like, the decisions related to improvement of production of oil and gas in petrochemical company can be better taken by its employees rather than seeking suggestions from the outside consultants. Moreover, the consultants demand a considerable amount of time and money for their services to the company. This could be saved if they rely on this full-time employees for improvement of its performance.

However, the outside consultants have wide range of knowledge and expertise. They have been associated with various big corporations and have a huge experience in various areas of work. They can bring better suggestions from the outside world for enhancing the efficiency of the company. Like, they can suggest better pay and incentives for the employees of a company in order to improve their performance, they can develop better training programs for its employees and also, they can suggest some better projects which the company should undertake in order to improve its performance and efficiency.

In sum, the full time employees working in the company can definitely help their company to enhance its efficiency but they have a limited scope of knowledge and expertise and therefore, they can't suggest in some of the areas or fields where only consultants can better serve.