To understand important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities.

It is very essential to understand the characteristics of a society which consists of people from various religion, castes, sects and classes. It is aids policy makers to form new laws and policies, entreprenuer to find their potential markets, town planners to plan their development schemes and government to plan and implement social schemes.

The author asserts that to understand the characteristics of a society one must study its major cities. No doubt, a majority of the society today resides in cities which have undergone tremendous development in the past few years. Also, there has been migration of outsiders to these cities on a huge scale. People from the nearby towns and villages migrate to these big cities mostly in search of employment and for the modern lifestyle these cities offer. Due to these reasons the population of a city comprises of diverse people from various religions, sects, castes and linguistic groups.

We can study the demographics of the population in the major cities which, can be used further to understand the characteristics of the society. We can determine the different religions to which people follow, different languages and dialects spoken by the people, profession and occupation of the numerous people of these major cities and the different ethnic groups to which the population belongs. Also, we can determine the employment rates, birth rates, sex ratio, suicide rates, literacy rates and even the unemployment rates. All these parameters can help us to understand the society from various perspectives. Also, using these parameters we can even determine Human Development Index (HDI) which serves as tool to determine the development of a country based on various indicators like social development, economic development, and educational development. We can also come to know the various customs and practices followed by people of different religions. Consider the example of major cities in US where people from different towns and cities migrate in search of jobs and to settle in these major cities. Also, people from other countries mostly students come in these major cities to study in universities which are renowned in the world and eventually, secure a job and settle in these major cities. As a result, the population gets so much diverse that it serves as best tool to understand the characteristics of a society.

However, there is a major limitation to this hypothesis. There are many minority groups in today’s world that are still yet to adapt themselves with the modern world. One can consider the tribal communities in different parts of the world. Some of the tribal groups haven’t undergone social development since the beginning of the time and as a result they still remain backward in the modern world. They even abstain from human contact and are reluctant to socialize with the outside world. They mostly reside in remote villages and island in the midst of forests and depend upon animals and insects to feed themselves. So, studying only the population of the major cities we can’t understand the society as a whole.

The author’s claim that to understand characteristics of a society we should study its major cities is unsubstantial. To understand the characteristics of society as a whole we can choose to study the population of major cities but those cities must comprise people from all ethnic groups and religions of that country.