As people rely more and more on technology, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

While it might be true that technology has substituted the place of human thought in working out the tasks, it is however going too far in outright stating that technology has deteriorated human thinking power. We can clearly perceive the extent to which technology has revolutionised the world and our day to day life. On the contrast to the statement made, it is the technology which has enabled us to see in the dark, record our ideas in a more permanent way, allowed for sharing of the ideas and many more. If it weren’t for the technology, we wouldn’t have found medical cures and deadly diseases like Polio, Small Pox, Plague would still be prevalent.

Modern technology like internet has conspicuously eased and aided the scientific research in many ways like scientific community collaboration on a global front, conducting the experiments, recording and sharing the ideas. It is this same technology which has enabled us to expand the human frontiers above and beyond our thinking capacity. We are now able to investigate the atmospheric conditions on other planets like Mars which would definitely be left as a dream without the technology. It is only through the communication technology are we able to talk to our near and dear ones once they are away from us and most recently we are even able to see them while talking through a video call.

In fact technology has freed up sometime for the human thinking capacity by performing the mundane tasks with ease and effectiveness. It would have been a night mare to perform some routine tasks like account book keeping, warehouse management for a human and computers are a perfect fit to such tasks, additionally they ensure error free and reliable results provided we do no wrong on our side of course.

Technology has also has a contribution to the field of arts, it goes without saying that arts are what keep us humans human and in fact some scientists claim that some time indulging in arts has increased their thinking capacity. In that regard technology has dramatically buttressed the reach of arts in the form of TV, Radio, Internet etc. and modern methods like computer graphics have really opened new doors to how we can be mesmerised by the human imagination.

With all these being said, it is true that some of us have lost ourselves in the vast ocean of this modern technology which might sometimes feel totally overwhelming and unnecessary. For example upon being used to take help of our hand calculators, we might feel it a difficult once we need to do simple calculations by ourselves, we feel all lost and bored if our internet doesn’t function for a few minutes and all those. As it has always been, it is not mere technology which deteriorates or enhances our thinking capacity, it is on the person in whose hands it is. For instance we can use the same technology to learn new things online and we can use the same thing for wasting hours and hours of our precious time by in indulging in otherwise less useful things. Nevertheless, it would not be wise to disdain technology after all the challenges we have solved using it.