Claim It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero Reason The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

In contemporary times, people can see the power of media scrutiny that could influence someone’s reputation. The author asserts that because of media’s scrutiny, it is hard to fine any living man or woman as a hero. However, this paper will convey this is not always true with below reasons and examples.

Admittedly, it is easy to find someone who were suddenly famous but after getting reputation, a media investigated all aspect of him or her and proliferated their shortcoming to public. Tiger Woods might be given one of the best examples of this cases. He had been known as a best pro-golfer, but after media focused to his private relationship with several women, he is no longer famous for his talent, but for his secret relations. Another example also could be given: one of previous president of South Korea, Park Gyuen Hye. During her term, there was a tragic accident and she was not good at being a control tower. After the accident, the media scrutinize all of her behavior of that day and it made public be upset to President, and finally the national Assembly voted for impeachment. Like this, media can do a role of proliferating one’s shortcoming and influence to public, thus it is hard for society to regard any living person as heroes.

However, there is other aspect of media; media can make living people as heroes. We live in the society where tools of communication is highly developed. Due to the worldwide fast cycle of news, social media, and new platforms such as Youtube or Facebook, people can get information much faster than ever. For example, Steve Jobs was one of role models and heroes of people before he died. He was pioneering of smart phone by combining internet with cell phone and he started his business based on design-based approach which was innovated in that times. In making him as a hero, media played a large role by focusing on his novelty and innovative thought. Mark Zukerberg and Bill Gate are also good instances that show the media’s impact on making a living hero.

To sum up, it is hard to pass judgement that it is no longer possible for a society to consider any living man or women as a role model because media’s reporting coverage is not only confined to shortcoming but also covers achievements.