An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above statement, the author recommends that residents of West Meria take Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil, for lowering absence days of schools and companies. While supporting the argument, however, the author largely relies on assumptions which can not be taken for granted thus without further evidence to verity unjustified assumptions, the recommendation might not been applied to West Meria.

Firstly, the author presumes that a study which implies correlation between fish consumption and less sickness is valid to accept and apply the result to West Meria. However, the cited study might not been representative of general population of East Meria. If there is sample bias (for example, gender, job and income), then validity of the study might not been warranted. For example, the respondents of cited study might have worked on the oceanside, so their fish consumption could be higher than other general population of East Meria. Furthermore, if respondents of the study have low income, because of expense of visiting to the doctor rather than fish consumption they might been unwilling to go to the doctor. Hence, further evidence pertaining to general characteristics of East Meria is necessary to evaluate the author’s claim.

Secondly, the argument rests on the conjecture that colds are the reason of most absenteeism, however it might not be the case. If actual reason of absence is different from what the absent gives, then the solution based on the response might not guaranteed to yield desired outcome. It is possible that they have no motivation to work or attend regularly which could have caused to higher the number of absences. Even if they who do not have illness take the daily use of Ichthaid, they would be health but they would continue to be absent to companies and schools. Therefore, the author should give more precise and valid survey which justify the reason of absenteesism.

Lastly, even if the cause of absence is cold, and consumption of fish could be effective to maintain health, the author depends on questionable assumption that the effectiveness of Ichthaid is same as consumption of fishes, but this might not be warranted. The Ichthaid is a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil, not the fish itself. What if vitamins and minerals of fishes are directly causes of being health? If fish oil is not the sole determinant of being health, then the predicted outcome that taking daily use of Ichthaid is effective to reduce the absence of West Meria might not been guaranteed.

In sum, the assertion of authors depends on several unplausible assumptions thus more relevant evidence pertaining to validity of study, cause of absence and comparability between fish and nutrient supplement should be given to strengthen the argument.