In order to improve the quality of instruction at the college and university level all faculty should be required to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach

While some people argue that colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach, however, it might not be valid in all circumstances. In the following essays, it shall be argued that such mandatory policies to all faculty might cause a couple of problems with three reasons.

Admittedly, it seems agreeable that working in the real world could help faculty to improve their teaching know-how and skills. Working in a relevant filed can give valuable experience and make them expand their perspectives. Thus, their improvement could benefit students whom they will teach. More broad and deep knowledge with real experience will make the course more useful for students. Therefore, it is plausible to agree with the statement at first glance.

However, though the claim has several advantages, it is not necessary for all faculty to work outside the academic world for three reasons. First of all, there are subjects which do not require real-experience. For example, some professors of the department of literature or philosophy do not need to get a job relevant to their majors. Rather than, it would be better for them just to read and read several books and organize their thought. Thus, making them work outside the academic world may be wasteful for their time and energy.

Secondly, even if working outside the academic world has merits for some faculty, it will be hard to support all of them. Let's think about it practically. If some professors start working at companies, museums, or other places. Then, their colleges and universities should support their salaries to do their job and hire more professors to teach students while original professors work. Finally, the cost of all these things is own to students who attend colleges and universities. Consequently, it seems way expensive to implement the alleged policy.

Lastly, since all faculty in colleges and universities are experts in their specific field, even if there is some money to afford their jobs, it would be impossible to find suitable jobs that are relevant to their major and give precious experience to them. Many professors already experienced the working experience relevant to their major during their doctorate courses, thus, finding meaningful jobs for them will be harder than we expected.

In sum, the statement that colleges and universities ought to demand working experience outside the academic world to their faculty has some benefits, nonetheless, it should be evaluated with some anticipated issues such as the necessity for some subjects, economic burdens, possibility to get a suitable job.