"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author claims in the following passage that we should invest our resources and time to develop unmanned space flight instead of manned flight because they will be benficial. Here the author's claim is based on very week assumptions of the recent success of unmanned probes and satellites and other assumptions which are discussed in detail in the following paragraphs.

The first and very week assumption presented by the author to support his claim is that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. The author did not provide any factual or quantitative data that how much costly is that which could be use to draw analogy against the unmanned flights. The author should provide that what is the nature of the cost, either it is money, it is time or its any other resource and provide a data on facts and figures. Also author did not provide that why is the manned space flight is dangerous, whether its in term on human loss, or environmental dangerous or its dangerous for people on earth.

The next week assumption which the author used to support his claim is that the author favors the unmanned flights becuase recently some unmanned flights were successful in gathering data from the space. Here the author again did not provide any information about the type and extent of the data it fetches from the space. The author should provide the type of information that these unmanned flights fetches from the space so the reader can compare with the usefulness of the data gather by the manned flights. Also the author mentions that a series of successfull missions, so the author should provide that this much turns out to be successfull while also provide that this much are unsucessful so we can compare this ratio with the sucessfulness ratio of the manned flights.

The author should also provide the information of the costs and efforts involved in developing a unmanned flight , so this can be compared with the costs and effors involved in developing manned flight. From this information, one can directly draw the conclusion that which choice is best. It may be possible that associated costs in bulidiing unmanned or so high that state decide to invest resources in making the manned flights more efficient and dafe to use.