Traffic on roads has become a problem in nearly every country in the world.

What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level and at an individual level?

The increasing traffic on roads has become a matter of great concern to almost every country in the globe. Although, it will take time to solve this issue, there are still doable solutions to decrease the everyday struggle of commuters and the community.

The public has an array of options to lessen the traffic jams. First of all, the local government in every highly urbanized cities having narrow roads, should make a plan on widening the highway. Surely, an additional lane will be beneficial so that cars and other means of transport will not be congested in 1 or 2 lanes only. Secondly, the authority in-charge with mass transits should improve the quality of public transport amenities. In this way, citizens will not feel the need to drive their own vehicle to work. It is also a good idea that people living nearby can practice car pooling, so that there will be lesser number of vehicles on the road.

Every person can help to the cause by opting for public transport such as bus or trains when going to work or to other places in the city. If majority of commuters will do this, there will be lesser travel time for other people. Thus, this should apply to all, irrespective if whether they own a car or not. Furthermore, a person belonging to a nuclear family should stop buying multiple cars, especially if they have a limited parking space at home. The lesser number of vehicles that are bought would ultimately shown in the decreasing congestion on roads.

To sum up, time, patience, effort, and an allocated budget to lessen the traffic on roads are needed. Solutions given are attainable as long as the public and every individual cooperates to have a better and not crowded roadway.