Traffic on roads has become a problem in every country in the world.

What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level and at an individual level ?

We are living in the golden age of luxurious automobiles equipped with cutting-edge technologies, along with an ever-growing population, which explain the main reason for an escalating amount of traffic, raising other concerns. Fortunately, the cooperation of both country leaders and citizens can help to alleviate the current situation.

To begin with, there are several policies in which governments could carry out to shrink down the traffic volume. Purchases of private vehicles should be heavily levied taxes upon, and the increment of road costs. Further, campaigns should be launched for propaganding and raising the awareness of the current alarming situation of the environment from large amount of traffic to the general public, stating the reason for the above measures. There should also be more government funding for the improvement of public transport systems and policies to encourage citizens to opt in for transport of this type.

Besides, the involvement of each individual in cooperating with governments’ policies is also needed to cope with the situation. Each person should be aware of the devastating effects of enormous amount of fumes emitted from an excess amount of transport to the environment, and the inconvenience of congested roads. By this way, they could also have a higher frequency of opting in for public transport, car pooling or similar mass-transport modes. Families should tighten down the number of private cars or motorbikes that they buy according to the number of members in the family, not only reducing environmental impacts but also reducing financial burden for families.

In conclusion, involvement of residents and governmets are needed to reduce the large volume of traffic on roads and solve related problems. Suitable measures and policies should be carried out and followed by every person.