As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

You should write at least 350 words.

The twenty-first century has commenced with the efflorescence of communication and transportation, whose momentary international traveling time empowered different societies to live with each other. Such closeness raises an apprehension that cultures may be assimilated to one, putting cultural identity on the wane. From my perspective, this notion is founded and this essay will delve deeper into the harms of globalization regarding this matter.

It is clear that today’s development, especifically globalization, greatly bolstered cultural integration. Amelioration of transports, such as airplanes, allowed people of diversifying origins to travel back and forth to one another, bringing with them their cultural values. Examples for this include the emergence of eastern communities within the United States such as Chinatowns that allowed Americans to enjoy Chinese food or increasing prevalence of fast food in Asian countries. Furthermore, the culmination of the technological revolution gave birth to the Internet which also further accelerated this process. Japan is a prominent example here, whose anime are gaining an increasing popularity among Western fans, helping to advertise a better Japanese image and attracting visitors to the home country.

Considering the integrations aforementioned, globalization may lead to a stripping away of cultural identity. It will lead to a breakdown in social interaction at a local level which is a vital element of cultural identity, because people will have more time being in contact with foreigners and being affected by their culture. In addition, families in a globalized society would be scattered all around the globe and be making decisions through virtual meetings instead of converging into one place. Furthermore, the phenomenon’s effect on communication will also be far reaching where culturally specific languages and dialects are no longer needed because a common language is needed. Religious values and customs are also not exempt which is not being favored in such a context, such as the dying out of Confucianism. Lack of familial and social bondings along with lack of distinct language and religions would then homogenize people into one culture and thus, what makes one stand out - their culture - will be nonexistent.

In conclusion, witnessing ongoing cultural amalgamation, I believe that concern regarding loss of identity stands to reason.