The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are different types of punishment for students due to mistakes that they make, in which one of them is using tools to hit students. Although this way of punishing had been reduced in popularity recently, some people think that it should be used to deter them. Personally, I do not support the usage of such tools to beat students.

On the one hand, beating pupils in schools is a way to prevent the repetition of their bad behaviors. Firstly, most students are frightened by the hurting feeling of being beaten by rods, having the tendency to avoid misbehaving. Secondly, the beating by rods would leave behind an obsession in students that is helpful in preventing future repeating their mistakes. this was one of the only ways to punish students in countries such as Viet Nam before the modern age, due to its simplicity.

On the other hand, misuse of hitting students would leave behind serious mental injuries for them. To start with, students who suffered too much from this way of punishment would then have bad feelings about their teachers, which could be hating or fearing feelings or even depression. As a result, the learning process would be affected negatively, such as slowed knowledge acquiring or losing interest in studying. therefore, corporal punishment is now forbidden in most countries, except in some developing countries like some countries in Africa.

In conclusion, for the simplicity of corporal punishment, it was widely used in the past and had been a part of the culture of some countries. however, due to its detrimental effects, most countries prohibited this type of punishment, therefore being less popular than it used to.