Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school, some people believe that this has negative development while others think there are some benefits.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

From some people’s perspective, there are downsides in spending more time commuting to work, whereas the others hold a superficial view of the positive side of this trend. In my opinion, longer journeys to work or school would have detrimental effects on the time and health of workers and students. This essay will discuss possible merits and demerits that come from traveling a long distance to the workplace or school.

On the one hand, there are indeed several benefits associated with doing longer commutes. Since most workplaces and reputed schools tend to be located in the interior city or at the city center, living far from those places is a way to have lower house and other costs. Commuting longer is also an opportunity for people to learn problem-solving skills. There are different and sudden things that would happen during the trip, such as car accidents, meeting drunk people and so forth. Dealing with such situations would allow people to practice problem-solving skills, which is essential for their life.

On the flip side of the coin, apart from the upsides fore mentioned, negative effects would arise from increased traveling to work or study time. Firstly, traveling a long journey would mean a considerable amount of additional time is consumed, which in turn result in time misspending. They can rest, relax, do exercises, do things of interest, staying in bond with family or other things with the time wasted. Secondly, spending more time commuting could result in mental disorders such as stress, increased anger, and some medical problems, affecting work efficiency. For example, driving too long on a car is one of the greatest contributing factors to high blood pressure.

In conclusion, spending more time on transportation from and to work would reduce some life costs and offers a chance to deal with situations in life, however health problems and time-wasting are also two handicaps of this trend. Hence, I believe that such negative effects are worth more concerning and considerations than the little advantages offered.