Sports which depend on violence for entertainment, such as wrestling or boxing, have no place in a civilized society and should be banned.

To what extend do you support or reject this idea.

Concerns have been raised over certain sports’ contingency on violence for recreational purposes due to its irrelevance in today’s civilization, notably a consensus of opinion suggesting prohibition of such activities. From my standpoint, I find myself among those opposed to this notion.

In my opinion, perilous sports like boxing and wrestling still maintain a standing in this day and age, mainly because of their positive impacts on viewers and players alike. Because wrestling and boxing require a high degree of physical fitness and training, watching them inspires young people to take care of their bodies. This is especially paramount in a civilized society of white-collar workers preoccupied by office work and trapped in a frenetic, sedentary lifestyle. Such an effect is further accentuated by national morale when supporting one's own country’s participation in international matches. In addition, profound benefits are begotten for the participants themselves through rigorous training for these kinds of sports. Wrestling and boxing players have to abide by strict regulations both in training and battle, learning the lessons of discipline. They also acquire self-defense skills, knowing what to do when physically assaulted. By and large, those sports’ status in today’s society is irrefutable.

Critics may insist that injuries and fatalities stemming from partaking in those sports have affirmed their virulent nature. On that account, such sports should be forbidden. Nevertheless, this claim is not attested, as deaths in violent sports are statistically rare, occurring only slightly more frequently than in other sports. Even if the mortality rate were substantially higher, a ban on those sports would be a violation of personal liberty. No one is forced into boxing, wrestling, or watching the matches; it is of their free will to do so. Thus, a ban could stir up opposition from fans, and they could try all means to either reverse the ban or play and watch in secrecy. As a saying goes, "forbidden fruit is the sweetest", those sports could appear furtively on the black market, possibly with a dearth of safety measures that further exacerbate the problem.

In conclusion, I firmly hold my stance of opposing a ban on violent sports.